Michigan’s New Antler Point Restrictions (APR)

bob demarco 005All you North Western Lower Peninsula hunters get ready for APR.  That is Antler Point Restriction!  Michigan’s Department of Natural Resources has implemented antler point restrictions on the following counties; Emmet, Antrim, Kalkaska, Missaukee, Wexford, Manistee, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Lake, Mason, and Osceola.  Member of the QDM (Quality Deer Management) petitioned for the restriction, and the DNR did a survey of Michigan hunters.  It was reported that a majority of Michigan’s deer hunters favor the restrictions.

So these 11 counties will join several other counties that already have these restrictions in place.  Check the DNR guide or website to see if your county is included in the ban.  You can still shoot two (2) bucks in Michigan, but one of them has to have 4 points on one side.  If you are in one of the counties where APR is being implemented you must shoot only deer with 3 or 4 points per side.  No spikes or forkhorns anymore.  It would seem that the whole state will eventually come under these restrictions, as the motto “Let em go; let em grow” sets well with more hunters.

You can reach the DNR web-site at www.michigan.gov/dnr.


Comments are closed.